Healthy Quinoa Breakfast Bowl

As I was looking around on the internet for healthy recipes, I came across an amazing little cookbook! It’s called “From Scratch” by Leanne Brown and it’s filled with healthy recipes that are affordable for everyone! And the best thing about it? You can get the PDF for free, so you don’t even have to pay for the book itself! The link to the free PDF version is here !

I looked through the recipes and there are a lot that I think sound delicious and easy to do! I will try out some of them and show you my results!

All you need for this recipe is this:

1/3 cup quinoa

2/3 cup water
pinch of salt
½ cup fruit
2 tbsp maple syrup and/or honey
Isn’t that awesome? I still had red Quinoa at home, so I used that instead of the regular one, but it worked just as well!
20160721_072918
Used this Red Quinoa, I believe I bought it from WalMart

In “From Scratch”, these are the instructions that I followed as well. I added a bit of cinnamon in the end because….cinnamon! 😀
Add the quinoa, water, and salt to a small pot. Place it on medium heat.
Let it come to a boil, then turn the heat down to medium-low so that it
simmers gently.
Meanwhile, unless you’re using small berries, cut up your fruit into
bite-sized pieces. If you’re using fresh fruit, dump it in at the end with
the maple syrup. If it’s the winter and you’re using frozen fruit, toss it
into the pot a couple of minutes before the quinoa is cooked so that it
can warm up and mix in nicely.
The quinoa should take about 20 minutes to cook. Keep an eye on it;
if it looks like it’s getting dry, add some water. The quinoa is cooked
when it is translucent, has doubled in size, and an opaque ring is visible
around each grain. Mix in maple syrup to your liking, then serve.
20160721_081204
My 1/2 cup of fruits…I used strawberries, oranges, pineapple and a little bit of kale, just because I like it 🙂
20160721_082249
I personally think Quinoa looks a little weird, but the taste is good! This is how my red Quinoa looked after cooking.

And lastly, this is what today’s breakfast looked like for me:

 

It only took 30mins to make and it tastes great! I hope you enjoy trying out this recipe! Let me know how you liked it and what fruits/ingredients you used! Have a great start into the day with this delicious breakfast!

Leave a Reply

