The transition into healthier food

In a letter that my husband wrote me many months ago, he mentioned that he had been on a raw diet before and that he wishes to transition back into that. Not quite sure what I was getting myself into, I agreed that I would try that with him. We ordered “The Sunfood Diet Success System” by David Wolfe to help us reach that goal and I am excited for the book to get here!

david-wolfe-the-sunfood-diet-success-system-1-638.jpg
You can order it here if you are interested.

Since then, I have started to be more aware of my food and general lifestyle, but let me tell you something: it is hard to change! Right now, I consider myself a vegeterian (or well, a piscetarian would be the right word, I think, since I do eat fish) and bit-by-bit I am trying to make our food healthier and healthier with more and more fruits and vegetables and less and less processed food. Living in Hawaii, that is mainly one thing: expensive! Healthy food here costs a fortune and with me being a student even with my husband having a very good job it’s hard to buy the “super healthy stuff” in the supermarkets all the time.

One thing we are thinking about to help us out with that, is building our own Aquaponics system, so that we always have access to fresh organic fruits/vegetables and fish (to either eat, sell or just look at).

If you are interested in what Aquaponics is, this website explains it well.

We are still getting everything together that we need to start, but I am excited to share with you how our project will come along once we start. I will make sure to keep you up-to-date with that!

Leave a Reply

