My “Solveitall”: Coconut Oil

Today I want to share something with you that I have actually tried out for a little while and that I really like and appreciate: the many uses of coconut oil!

coconutoil
Coconut Oil

First of all, my favorite use for coconut oil -besides for cooking- is as a make-up remover. I first read about it when I stumbled across an article about Eva Mendes and how she swears by it. You can read the article here.

She uses coconut oil on a wet cloth, I just use it on a cotton pad and then remove my make-up with it…it works wonders, even with my waterproof mascara! And it’s such a good felling to know you are using something so natural on your face. I also do not have the clearest skin and I have noticed that when I use coconut oil, little blemishes or red spots or pimples disappear at least twice as fast as usual. I use it in the evening before going to bed and it funtions like a great natural moisturizer and you will look all bright and shiny in the morning 🙂

And another thing that I do regularly with coconut oil: oil-pulling. That might sound weird, but it really makes a difference! You take a tablespoon of coconut oil in your mouth, right after getting up in the morning seems to work best for this, and then you swish it around in your mouth for at least 10 minutes, but you should aim for 20 minutes to get the best results out of that. Not only does it detoxify the mouth and helps with bad breath, but it also makes your teeth much brighter and prevents tooth decay! If you do it regularly, it also helps boosting your immune system and you will notice that you will feel much better. The first few times I did 20mins of oil pulling, I actually felt quite exhausted and had a bit of a headache, but I found out that this is due to my body working on getting rid of these toxins. When you are done with the swishing and swooshing after 20 minutes, discard of the coconut oil in the trash (not the sink, it will clog it after a while).

There are even scientific studies showing the health benefits that oil pulling can have and these go WAY beyond just having whiter teeth (you can find out more about it here )! I really recommend you giving it a try for a few weeks and see if you like the results. If you are, please let me know how you like it!

And I found quite a few more uses for coconut oil, here is a website that introduces 77 Coconut Oil uses and they all look very promising! I already use it as wound salve (ask my husband, when he has a cut on his hand or something like it, my first advise is always: put coconut oil on it! 😀 ), massage oil, shave cream, hair conditioner and more and for all these uses I swear by coconut oil, it’s definitely worth trying! Make sure it is organic and cold-pressed when you buy it though, that is something I would always recommend.

One more thing for the petowners reading this- I have also read many positive things about giving coconut oil to your pets and I have done so with my cats and am convinced it’s just as good for them as it is for humans. On top of that, mine seem to love it and get all excited when they can have some of it 🙂

Here are a few testimony’s on a website that I found: Coconut Oil for pets

I hope you give it a try, I really think it’s a magical little helper and I can’t wait to hear about your experience with it!

Also, when you know of a use for it that hasn’t been mentioned here, please tell me all about it!


Leave a Reply

